Google Drive – To auto-delete trash things after 30 days
Until you empty it, Google Drive stores all your deleted things in the trash. But from next month, the company’s changing that action. Google Drive will automatically uninstall things in the trash within 30 days starting October 13.
That doesn’t mean that on October 13, though, the current trash products will be removed. The count of 30 days starts on October 13, and files stay until they reach this time limit.
This move is consistent with other G Suite products and services policies, such as Gmail. This will help ensure that behaviour across G Suite products is consistent and predictable for users, and will help ensure that items that use trash are actually removed as planned, “says Google”.
When you are an administrator, Google points out that for active users, you can always recover things from a user’s trash for up to 25 days. Take a look at the official policy reform notes issued by Google below:
- For active users, administrators can also recover things that are removed from a user’s trash for up to 25 days.
- This move does not impact retention policies set by administrators in Google Vault, unless they become outdated since they are now redundant. Learn more about the Drive Retention Law.
- These changes impact products from any computer and any network that are trashed.
- After 30 days, files removed from Drive File Stream will be purged from the system trash. The conduct of Backup and Sync has no effect.
- Data in the trash of shared drives are already removed automatically after 30 days.
- Quotas will also continue to eat things in the trash.
In-app updates will be sent by Google to inform users about this update. The banner will appear in Drive starting today and as of September 29 Google will start showing it in other Gsuite products, such as Google Docs and Google Forms.